How to Support the AAPI Community in a Time of Hate & Violence: A List of Resources

It takes all of us to create change. Hate is a virus, and it’s time we stand with our Asian brother and sisters in the AAPI community to put a stop to all of this.

 

AAPI Groups to Follow

Stop AAPI Hate

Asian Americans Advancing Justice – Atlanta

Asian Americans Journalists Association

OCA-Asian Pacific American Resources 

AAPI Women Lead

National Asian Pacific American Women’s Forum

Red Canary Song (grassroots collective of Asian sex workers & allies)

Asian Mental Health Collective

Welcome to Chinatown NYC

AAPI Data

 

AAPI Journalists/Reporters/Writers to Follow

Michelle Ye Hee Lee, Washington Post 

Julia B. Chan, KQED

Kimmy Yam, NBC

Cecilia Lei, Vox

Nicole Hong, The New York Times

Janice Yu, Fox 5 Atlanta

Chenue Her, NBC Atlanta

Dion Lim, ABC7 News, San Francisco

CeFaan Kim, ABC7 News, New York

Han Li, World Journal – San Francisco Bureau

Betty Yu, KPIX-TV, San Francisco 

Tracy Jan, The Washington Post 

Kyung Lah, CNN

Wejia Jiang, CBS News

Jessica Prois, NBC Asian America 

Frances Wang, CBS Miami

Marian Lu, The Washington Post 

Shawna Chen, Axios

Karen K. Ho, Quartz

Nicole Dungca, Washington Post

Andrew Peng, The Yappie 

Cecilia Kang, The New York Times

Vicky Nguyen, NBC News

Ericka Cruz Guevarra, KQED

Vivian Ho, The Guardian

Nicole Chung, Slate

Alice Wong, Editor of “Disability Visibility” 

Moriah Balingit, Washington Post

Teresa Watanabe, The Los Angeles Times

Connie Wang, Refinery29 

Mia Sato, MIT Technology Review

 

AAPI Authors/Researchers to Follow

Michelle Kim, diversity/equity/inclusion

Connie Wun, race/gender/multiracial solidarity

Min Jin Lee, identity/immigrant/family author

Nancy Wang Yuen, sociologist 

Joey S. Kim, identity/model minority myth/literature

Arissa Oh, race/gender/family/migration author 

Amber Akemi Piatt, violence prevention/clinical psychology

Sherry Wang, social justice/anti-racism

May-lee Chai, immigration/race

Kevin Nadal, gender/sexuality/psychology/law and order

Jenn (Reappropriate), race/feminism

 

How to Support Your Mental Health Right Now

For AAPI Journalists: AAJA is hosting The Space on Sunday, March 21 at 2 p.m. EST. It’s a facilitated, off-the-record conversation to share your feelings, experiences and thoughts, with two professional therapists. Register here.

 

MORE FROM AAJA: Mental Wellness Resources For AAPI Community

 

More Asian Mental Health Collective (AMHC) Resources:

 

TransformASIAN Conference for learning

National Suicide Prevention Line:

https://suicidepreventionlifeline.org/ ( 1-800-273-TALK )

Asian Languages: 1-877-990-8585

 

Crisis Text Line:

Text CONNECT to 741741

 

Ways to Get Involved 

Report anti-Asian hate incidents to Stop AAPI Hate: to report an anti-Asian hate incident or crime, fill out an online form. Languages available: English, 中文(繁體), 中文(简体), 한국어, Tiếng Việt, 日本語, Tagalog, ไทย, មែរ, Lus Hmoob, ਪੰਜਾਬੀ, हिन्दी.

Read self-reported hate incidents and report anti-Asian hate incidents 

(馬上報告, 立刻报告, 지금 신고하십시오, BÁO CÁO NGAY) to Stand Against Hatred to help AAAJ track hate.

____

REQUEST FOR VOLUNTEERS (made on 3/18/21): to help a group of SF-based community members organize an AAPI Stop Hate Rally and sign up for a newsletter as well. Fill out this Google doc form.

REQUEST FOR WRITERS, SPEAKERS, VIDEO EDITORS (made on 3/19/21): to help AAJA’s Sport Task Force launch a video campaign to combat anti-Asian discrimination. Sign up here by 3/26. 

 

REQUEST FOR STORIES: @tellasianstories is an Instagram account collecting and posting Asian experiences of racism to break down the model minority myth. Created and operated by Amanda Sun. Share your experiences as an AAPI on this google doc form (young folks are especially welcome!). 

Note: All responses are kept confidential; only ethnicity and age are revealed.

______

Bystander Intervention Training: to Stop Anti-Asian/American and Xenophobic Harassment

BYSTANDER TRAINING DATES AND TIMES:

  • March 29 at 3:00 PM ET/ 2:00 PM CT/ 1:00 PM MT/ 12:00 PM PT/ 10:00 AM HST. Register Here
  • April 20 at 2:00 PM ET/ 1:00 PM CT/ 12:00 PM MT/ 11:00 AM PT/ 9:00 AM HST. Register Here

CONFLICT DE-ESCALATION TRAINING DATES AND TIMES:

  • April 2nd, 2021. 1:00 PM ET/ 12:00 PM CT/ 11:00 AM MT/ 10:00 AM PT/ 8:00 AM HST. Register Here
  • April 21, 2021. 4:00 PM ET/ 3:00 PM CT/ 2:00 PM MT/ 1:00 PM PT/ 11:00 AM HST. Register Here

HOW TO RESPOND TO ANTI-ASIAN HARASSMENT TRAINING DATES AND TIMES:

  • April 2nd 2021. 5:00 PM ET/ 4:00 PM CT/ 3:00 PM MT/ 2:00 PM PT/ 12:00 PM HST. Register Here
  • April 15 2021. 6:00 PM ET/ 5:00 PM CT/ 4:00 PM MT/ 3:00 PM PT/ 1:00 PM HST. Register Here

______

Complimentary Self-Defense Classes – Oakland, CA (Virtual class also offered)

Four-class sessions of self-defense class will be held in response to the violence and to empower one to learn self-defense skills and perhaps teach those skills to others in the community. 

Sign up here.  

Schedule:

WEDNESDAY NIGHTS April 14th, 21st, and 28th. 7-9pm

SUNDAY NIGHTS May 9th, 16th, and 23rd. 7-9pm

MONDAY NIGHTS May 10th, 14th, and 24th. 7-9pm

WEDNESDAY NIGHTS May 12th, 19th, and 26th. 7-9pm

WEDNESDAY NIGHTS June 2nd, 9th, and 16th. 7-9pm

VIRTUAL (will send link)

________

 

Ways to Get Involved: Upcoming Solidarity Events

3/24: #StopAsianHate Online Day of Solidarity

EVENT PAGE

3/27: Stop Asian Hate Protest – Greater Seattle Area

EVENT PAGE

4/17: Stop Asian Hate Rally & Vigil – Austin, TX

EVENT PAGE

________

 

OAKLAND OPPORTUNITIES: Oakland Chinatown Coalition: If you’re interested in volunteering as a foot patrol: Foot Patrol Volunteer Interest Form

  • In the coming weeks OCC will be finalizing its Volunteer Strolling Program, a pilot extension to their current Chinatown Clean Ambassador Program. We will start with weekly shifts on Monday afternoons. Please keep an eye out for more information, and in the meantime you can watch this short video about the difference the Ambassador program makes in the community.
  • Little Saigon in Eastlake is also building up their Peace Ambassador Program, hosted by Trybe, and would love for volunteers to join them on Monday and Fridays from 10:30 am – 2:30 pm, meeting up at Clinton Park. For more information and to sign up, please email Andrew Park at info@oaklandtrybe.org. Please also consider supporting their fundraising efforts for their Peace Ambassador Program to serve Little Saigon and Eastlake.
  • OCA-East Bay are restarting their Pick-It-Up Chinatown to help out where they can. They will gather on Sunday, March 21st 11am-2pm @ Madison Park and go out throughout Chinatown. For more info people can RSVP to ocaeastbay@gmail.com. Supplies are limited, so bring your own brooms/supplies if you have them.

Compassion in Oakland: If you’re interested in volunteer as a chaperone:

Volunteer Interest Form

 

Specific Roles Needed for Compassion in Oakland:

Volunteer Shift Leads: Arrive a few min early in order to brief volunteers, debrief volunteers and collect lanyards and other distributed materials, be on call if any issues arise. Meet cool people and have fun! ( 3-6 hrs/ week)

Social Media Coordinator / Community Manager: Coordinate with Content creator and Copywriter to run social media content, CIO campaigns and manage marketing for fundraisers. Schedule social media content posts, collaborate with other online companies or public figures. Manage social media communication. (Estimated 5 hrs/week )

Content Creator: Create social media content and campaigns. Promote Compassion in Oakland’s services, projects, and media features by developing visual content for our social channels and marketing materials. Work closely with our Copywriter. (Estimated 5 hrs/week )

Copywriter: Help us write marketing and promotional materials for Compassion in Oakland. These materials can range from promotional materials to website/email copy. We are looking for someone to help ensure that all copy is consistent with Compassion in Oakland’s mission by writing, editing, and proofing materials. (Estimated 5 hrs/week )

Translation Services: Chinese, Vietnamese, or whatever language you are proficient in.  Help us translate copy for marketing, social media and the website. (Estimated 1-2 hrs/week )

If you have any questions, please reach out to info@compassioninoakland.org

______

Southern California (San Gabriel Valley) Opportunity: Compassion in Oakland has expanded to the San Gabriel Valley in Southern California. The group is currently looking for volunteers to chaperone elderly people in SGV as well as more leadership-level help (volunteer management, POD leaders, fundraising, etc.) Fill out this form to join Compassion in Oakland SGV. 

Leadership team is kicking off canvassing next weekend. First volunteer onboarding session on Monday, March 29th. If folks sign up via the volunteer form, they will follow up with a link to join. All-volunteer canvassing kicks off the weekend of April 3rd! Visit the group’s website here.

__________

~LET’S FILL THIS SPACE WITH MORE NATIONWIDE OPPORTUNITIES~

______

 

Published Work About Recent Violence Against AAPI Community 

AAJA has compiled a more extensive Google spreadsheet tracking anti-Asian incidents coverage.

To submit more AAPI news coverage to the Asian Americans Journalists Association (AAJA), fill out this Google docs form.  

 

Where to Donate Funds Right Now

 

More Resources

Share this post: 
Share on twitter
Share on facebook
Share on linkedin